Friday, March 28, 2014

The 2003/4 Sydney Kings - legendary team

C. J. Bruton was recruited to take the place of the retired Shane Heal and Jason Smith was signed after returning to the NBL after playing in Europe. The Kings started the 2003/04 season with 12 successive wins, and would eventually win their second championship after their best-of-five grand final series with cross-town rivals West Sydney went down to the deciding fifth game. Kings player Matt Nielsen would win the regular season and finals MVP this year before leaving to play overseas. Sydney’s outstanding depth was also a key that season, with Brad Sheridan, Brett Wheeler, David Stiff, Luke Martin and BJ Carter all contributing quality minutes.

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

The 1991 Perth Wildcats - legendary team

The start of the 90’s saw the Perth Wildcats move to the 8,200 seat Perth Entertainment Centre. Despite a shaky start to the season Perth charged into the Grand Final and achieved their first NBL championship by defeating the Brisbane Bullets in Brisbane. The Wildcats backed up this effort in 1991 by becoming the third team in NBL history to win back-to-back championships, defeating the Eastside Spectres in front of a home crowd.

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

The 1998 Adelaide 36ers - legendary team

Today we feature the '98 Adelaide 36ers (and no, we haven't forgotten about an earlier legendary Adelaide team).

In 1998 when debutante coach Phil Smyth recruited Paul Rees to play alongside former NBA pair Darnell Mee and Kevin Brooks, the Clipsal Powerhouse was hanging the “sold out” sign at every home game. The 36ers turned their fortunes around under Smyth and finished the regular season in 2nd place with a 19-11 record. They won through to the 1998 NBL Grand Final series to face the heavily favoured South East Melbourne Magic that many thought were the greatest team of all time. Adelaide stunned the Magic and swept the series to claim the clubs first championship since 1986. Kevin Brooks was named the Grand Final MVP in what was the last ever winter season for the NBL.

Monday, March 24, 2014

The 1997 Melboune Tigers - legendary team

Today's legendary team, the 1997 Melbourne Tigers.

Having to deal with a mid-season return of Mark Bradtke from the NBA, the Melbourne Tigers started the 1997 season in very poor form with a 3–11 mark at the midpoint of the season. Marcus Timmons was brought in on a tip from former assistant coach Brett Brown. From that point, the Tigers did not lose another game until the second game of the Finals against the Magic. The Tigers would go on to defeat the Magic in Game 3 of the Finals to claim their second championship in front of their home-town fans.

Thursday, March 13, 2014

The 2002/3 Sydney Kings - legendary team

Our next legendary team was the start of a three-peat dynasty, the 2002/2003 Sydney Kings.
(See pic below, for the Kings you have the choice of the purple or gold tees)

For the 2002/03 season, Shane Heal was joined by talented imports Chris Williams and Kavossy Franklin. The team also welcomed the NBL's all-time leader in coaching victories, Brian Goorjian. The Kings finished on top of the ladder with a 22-8 record and swept the Perth Wildcats in the grand final series to claim their first-ever championship.

With Goorijan able to implement his defensive tactics which were so successful with the Magic and Titans, in addition to finally being able to purchase high quality superstar imports he was unable to attain due to financial constraints on the team in Melbourne, there seemed to be no stopping the Kings ...

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

The 2007 Brisbane Bullets - legendary team

Following on from the 1985 team yesterday, this morning's feature legendary team is one of the greatest ever assembled, the 2007 Brisbane Bullets.

Whether you consider them the best NBL team ever (or the best that money could buy), you can’t argue with how great the Brisbane Bullets team was that won the 2006/2007 championship. They were so good their bench players would have likely beaten most rival teams. “G-Unit” as they named themselves featured Adam Gibson, Dillon Boucher, Mark Bradtke (Dusty Rychart was the starter I believe), Mick Hill & Brad Williamson.

The Bullets won the pre-season title and then easily won the minor premiership, claiming an end of season record of 28 wins and only 5 losses. This included an all-time NBL record-breaking 21-game winning streak, marking the Bullets' most successful season since 1979. Brisbane went on to make their first NBL grand final since 1990 and took out the finals series 3-1 over defending champions the Melbourne Tigers to be crowned NBL champions for the third and last time (for now).

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

The 1985 Brisbane Bullets - legendary team

Announcing the release of our new Legendary Teams tees!

We've been paying tribute to some of the greatest NBL players to grace the league, now its time to honour some of the greatest ever teams. We're starting with the 1985 Brisbane Bullets.

Having lost the Grand Final in the previous season, the Brisbane Bullets emerged in 1985 as the league's most powerful team under Brian Kerle and again won the minor premiership with a 20-6 record. With the grand final game being held at their home venue (Chandler Arena), the Bullets were hot favourites to defeat the Adelaide 36ers in what was to be the last single game grand final in NBL history. Leading 78-74 going into the last period of play the Bullets then outscored Adelaide 42-21, setting an NBL grand final record for points scored in the final period and easily accounting for the 36ers 120-95 to record their first ever championship win.

For your viewing pleasure:

Sunday, March 2, 2014

NBL Hall of Fame vs 1998 Adelaide 36ers

Here are some of the highlights from the NBL Hall of Fame vs 1998 Adelaide 36ers held last weekend. The Hall of Fame team features some of the legends we've immortalised in t-shirts so far:
  • Leroy Loggins 
  • Cal Bruton 
  • Mark Bradtke 
  • Andrew Gaze 
  • Lanard Copeland
  • Steve Carfino
None of them were moving too quickly or playing any defence but Kevin Brooks looks to have been the star of the show.

To represent your favourite NBL legend, check out our range of t-shirts here: